Now Accepting Nominations for our 2021 National Hope Award Winner

Click Here to Nominate!


For the past nine years the #EndBrainCancer Initiative has presented the HOPE award to a brain cancer patient from the United States who deeply inspired us with his or her courage and story. We established this award, to highlight exceptional people who have done exceptional things in relation to their brain cancer journey. Each year, we have honored some amazing individuals and they’ve deeply inspired all who’ve attended our educational meetings and events. This year, we are making some changes to the nomination process:

  • Patients and survivors of a brain tumor diagnosis have the option of nominating themselves.
  • We are incorporating a video element into the nomination process. This is now possible because creating videos is very simple to do, and very much a part of everyday life for most people with a smartphone.

May is Brain Cancer Awareness month. Why not honor someone you love and respect and make a nomination? Please fill out the nomination form at the bottom of this page. Instructions for submitting videos to the EndBrainCancer Initiative will be included in the confirmation email once you submit the online form. We would love to learn your story and be inspired!

Thank You to our National HOPE Award Initiative and Campaign Sponsors!
With the help of our presenting sponsor, Novocure, and others the EndBrainCancer Initiative is now opening up the 2021 HOPE award to nominations. This year’s Initiative and Campaign will run through July 22, 2021, National GBM Day, with the Award being presented at EBCI’s May 26th “Know All Your Treatment Options” Virtual Patient Education Meeting and Event which is part of our May celebration of National Brain Tumor Awareness Month (BTAM).

Previous HOPE Award Winners


  • H. Bruce Rinker – 2021 HOPE Award Winner
  • MikaylaI Neufeld – 2020 HOPE Award Winner
  • Kristin McQueen – 2019 HOPE Award Winner
  • Ken Whitley – 2018 HOPE Award Winner
  • Kevin Manderscheid – 2017 HOPE Award Winner
  • Stephanie Lipscomb – 2016 HOPE Award Winner
  • Dr. Charles Cobb – 2015 HOPE Award Winner
  • Susan Kellner – 2015 INSPIRATION Award Winner
  • Megan L. Patton – 2014 HOPE Award Winner
  • David Heyting and Holly Zimmerman – 2013 HOPE Award Co-Winners
  • Kathi Geortzen – 2013 INSPIRATION Award Winner

A Story Worth Telling

While only one person will be recognized with the national HOPE award, we believe that each story is worth sharing and each person worth honoring. With your permission and/or the permission of the nominee and/or his or her family, we will share (on our website, social media, and in other ways) these stories and videos of HOPE throughout the year to inspire other brain cancer patients and the thousands of people who deeply care. This year, we are also seeking to understand what HOPE means to you personally, and what you would say to those working in industry, research, pharma, device, biosciences, etc. if you were given the opportunity to speak to them.

Nominate Someone Who Inspires You!

Complete the form below or click HERE for a full page form. Tell us in 2 to 3 paragraphs about a patient with brain cancer and his or her special story. Tell us how the story gave you and others HOPE. Or if you are nominating yourself, please share with us those things you have learned in your journey that you think the brain tumor community should know. What would tell patients to keep them motivated and inspired? The HOPE award is given to a living nominee or may be given posthumously to a significant representative of that person.