Now Accepting Nominations for our 2017 National Hope Award Winner

For the past five years the EndBrainCancer Initiative has presented the HOPE award to a brain cancer patientfrom across the United States who deeply inspired us with his or her courage and story. Truly there are innumerable deserving patients who have bravely fought and stood up to this disease. We did though, establish this award, to highlight exceptional people who have done exceptional things in relation to their brain cancer journey. We honored some amazing individuals each year and they deeply inspired all who attended our luncheons.

Thank You Novocure

With the help of our underwriting sponsor, Novocure (link to Novocure’s site), the EndBrainCancer Initiative is now opening up the 2017 HOPE award to nominations. May is Brain Cancer Awareness month. Why not honor someone you love and respect and make a nomination! Please fill out the nomination form at the bottom of this page. We would love to hear your story and be inspired!


Megan Patton, who is a brain cancer survivor since 1999, received the HOPE Award in 2014. Last year, she celebrated this journey by holding a Barn Bash benefiting the Chris Elliott Fund, which has provided her with support and connections to advanced brain tumor treatment for much of her journey. Last year, she established the Megan L. Patton Fund.

A Story Worth Telling

While only one person will be recognized with the national HOPE award, we believe that each story is worth sharing and each person worth honoring. With your permission and the permission of the nominee and/or his or her family, we will share (on our website and in other ways) these stories of HOPE throughout the year to inspire other brain cancer patients and the thousands of people who deeply care.

Previous HOPE Award winners

For the past five years we have honored some special people. Here is a list of previous recipients.

    • Stephanie Lipscomb – 2016
    • Dr. Charles Cobb
    • Megan L. Patton
    • David Heyting and Holly Zimmerman
    • Kathi Geortzen – 2011


Nominate Someone Who Inspires You!

Below is a nomination form. Tell us in 3 to 5 paragraphs about a brain cancer patient and his or her special story. Tell us how the story gave you and others HOPE. Tell us your relationship with the person you desire to honor. The HOPE award is given to a living nominee or may be given posthumously to a significant representative of that person.